If you’ve ever seen a competitor’s Google ad sitting above your own site’s organic ranking, you have some idea of the power of Google AdWords. These little ads are an integral component of a successful search engine marketing strategy.
Do you really need a strategy for search?
Yes. Top ranking on search engines doesn’t just happen by accident. It takes a coordinated strategy of content, keywords, social media and backlinks. The effort is well-rewarded, putting your site higher on the list than your competitors when people search for your long-tail keywords.
And folks are searching. According to a Google research study, Understanding Consumers’ Local Search Behavior, 4 in 5 consumers use search engines to find local information. You need to be on top of the results to benefit from all that searching. According to a BrightLocal study, 98% of users choose a business on page one of the Google search results.
The bottom line is: Your customers have questions, problems, needs. They turn to Google Search to find answers and solutions.
4 in 5 consumers use search engines to find local information.
Not all paid search is created equal.
There’s a reason “Google” has become a verb. Google processes 3.5 billion searches every day worldwide. If your customers are searching—which we know they are—they’re probably searching on Google.
That makes a Google AdWords campaign the perfect advertising complement to your organic search engine optimization efforts. You want to put your dollars where your customers’ eyes are.
How does a Google AdWords campaign affect your SEO? Glad you asked.
The benefit of being above the organic results.
An effective AdWords campaign can produce a steady, reliable stream of traffic. But just how much traffic can you expect from a pay-per-click (PPC) campaign and is it worth the investment?
The answers to those questions depend on the effectiveness of your AdWords campaign, the cost-per-click (CPC), and the eventual number of qualified leads the campaign produces. Targeted keywords have different CPCs based on the competitiveness of those keywords in an industry. For example, let’s say the average CPC for e-commerce is about $0.88. That means if you invest $1,000 in an AdWords campaign, it should produce over 1,100 clicks.
$1,000 / $0.88 = 1136.36
To determine a definitive ROI, you’d need to measure how many of those visitors became qualified leads, and how many of those leads eventually turned into customers. However, according to a Google Economic Report, businesses make an average of $2 in revenue for every $1 they spend on AdWords.
Organic SEO is great, but isn’t enough.
Why not just invest in more organic SEO strategies? The answer is surprisingly simple, and any company that has run Google AdWords and then shut it down knows it. Organic traffic doesn’t catch up with the boost an effective AdWords campaign creates. In fact, according to Google, 89% of traffic generated by PPC ads is not replaced by organic traffic when ads are paused.
Organic SEO efforts like authority, content and backlinks are the lifeblood of your search engine marketing strategy. AdWords is a powerful vitamin booster for those efforts.
Advertising completes your search strategy.
There is no one quick and easy way to rise to the top of the search engines. It takes a multi-faceted strategy employing as many tactics as are viable and effective. Google AdWords is one of those tactics.